Grow MN! Partnership Update: Minimum-wage Increases for 2019

Grow Minnesota!® Partnership:

For your information. Please be aware of the Minimum wage increases that will go into effect in 2019. Share this information with your local businesses.

Looking forward to seeing all of you at the 2019 Minnesota Chamber Session Priorities event on January 9th and at the MCCE Annual Meeting January 10th -11th .

Wage and Hour Bulletin

December 2018

 

New state minimum wage as of Jan. 1, 2019


Minnesota’s minimum-wage rates will be adjusted for inflation beginning Jan. 1, 2019, to $9.86 an hour for large employers and $8.04 an hour for other state minimum wages.


 

Minimum-wage rates of Jan. 1, 2019

The following are Minnesota’s minimum-wage rates as of Jan. 1, 2019.

  • Large employers must pay at least $9.86 an hour when the employer’s annual gross revenues are $500,000 or more.
  • Small employers must pay at least $8.04 an hour when the employer’s annual gross revenues are less than $500,000.
  • The training wage rate, $8.04 an hour, may be paid to employees younger than 20 years of age for the first 90 consecutive days of employment.
  • The youth wage rate, at least $8.04 an hour, may be paid to employees younger than 18 years of age.

 


 

Why the state minimum wage is increasing

Under Minnesota law, the commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry is required to determine and announce the inflation-adjusted minimum-wage rate each year by Aug. 31. This year, the change in the price deflator is an increase of 2.16 percent.

 


 

Minneapolis minimum wage increase effective July 1, 2019

The Minneapolis minimum wage increases July 1, 2019. Learn more about the increase, implementation and enforcement at www.ci.minneapolis.mn.us/minimumwage or call the Minneapolis Department of Civil Rights at 612-673-3012.

 


 

New minimum-wage poster is available online

Minnesota law requires employers to display five state-mandated posters in a location where employees can easily see them. Download the free poster pack here, which includes all five posters, plus the minimum-wage poster that will be effective Jan. 1, 2019.

 


 

Questions?

Labor Standards serves the citizens of Minnesota by providing information about the state’s wage, hour and employment laws.

Phone:  651-284-5070 or 800-342-5354
Email:  dli.laborstandards@state.mn.us
Website:  www.dli.mn.gov